Thanksgiving Gluttony (but not Gluten-y!)

OK, so I failed to post Thanksgiving Thursday and the following Friday and Saturday.  I was traveling, and enjoying a little break from posting.  Usually when I go off line it is because I’ve had a major slip of some kind.  In this instance, I am happy to report that I made it through ALL of Thanksgiving without eating:

gluten

sugar

dairy

grains

Crazy, right?  I’m pretty proud of myself.  I did, however, eat a ton of food.  I made vegan mashed potatoes with coconut oil and coconut milk.  My turkey was topped with delicious cranberry chutney made by my mother and sweetened with coconut sugar.  I also made two pies sweetened with coconut sugar and resting in crusts of coconut, almond, and walnut flour.  One was apple and the other sweet potato.  I crowned these calorie-laden concoctions with Coconut Bliss ice cream.  Soooo yummy!  I did have some corn and soy in the form of my mom’s vegan version of her famous corn pudding.  We used vegan sour cream which contains soy, and the corn meal was organic.

So, I ate a ton of food Thursday and Friday, but for the first time in my life, I managed to make it through these days without consuming any of my trigger foods.  The one exception is that on Friday when my mom’s yummy chutney was just a memory, I opened a can of “real” cranberry sauce that did contain some actual sugar.  I am ok with this.

I made it back to the Bay Area without having consumed and ounce of anything super naughty.  Sadly, I can’t say my return was as unsoiled.  In celebration of my Main Squeeze’s birthday I ate:

– one homemade (by me) red velvet cupcake (so amazingly delicious and evil!)

– one half a bag of unbuttered movie theater popcorn — soooo good and worth it!

– half a diet coke (with the popcorn)

– half a gourmet, organic dark chocolate bar

– 2 cocktails

It was all fantastically delicious, and I enjoyed celebrating him.  I am a little sad to say that my sweet tooth carried into Sunday and Monday.  I also am feeling super cranky and irritable in a way that I haven’t in ages.  I would like to blame gluten over the pile of paperwork that I am am currently avoiding.

I am really glad that I found some delicious alternatives to some of my favorite Thanksgiving treats.  I had a delightful holiday with my family.  I hope you and yours did, too.

Here’s to hoping the gluttony of the past few days doesn’t mark the jumping off point for a December of Debauchery as it has in the past.  I think I am off to a pretty good start.

Leave a comment

Filed under diary

Leave a Reply

